“…when I run, I feel His pleasure.”

Today, all three of us in the little Dreyer family are battling colds.  I stayed in my pjs all day yesterday and it’s looking good for all day today as well.  Shep is taking a nap, and Jake fell asleep on the couch in front of the TV.  Now would be the perfect time for me to take a little nap of my own since I feel like poop, but I’m not napping.  I’m at my computer editing pictures.  Why?  Because I love my job!  I had a fantastically fun shoot on Saturday and since I force myself to rest on Sundays, I couldn’t wait to go through all those pictures and start editing them!  I’m like a little kid opening a present after every shoot.  I can’t WAIT to see what I got.  I can’t WAIT to get into Photoshop and make a great photo even more fabulous.  It thrills me every time!  Jake knows to leave me alone when I get home from a wedding or a shoot for at least an hour because he knows I’ll get lost in the photos for a little while before I bring myself back to earth.

I’m so excited about my own excitement because I realized today that I’ve never had a job that I loved SO much that I gave up a napping opportunity for it.  I mean hello!  It’s one of my life rules that when life gives you the opportunity to nap take it, cause you never know when you’ll get the opportunity again.  But I’m breaking my own rule today.  Happily.  I’ve found ‘it.’  The meaningful work that makes me tick.  It’s like on Chariots of Fire when he says, “…when I run I feel His (God’s) pleasure.”  I feel so blessed that I have the opportunity to follow my dreams and to see how God is at work in every detail.

I just wanted to take a minute and express my gratitude to God and to all my clients who make my wonderful job possible!  Thank you for letting me photograph you!

1 Comment

Filed under Bridals, Normal Life

One response to ““…when I run, I feel His pleasure.”

  1. coloringlife2009

    It is such a blessing to live in that passion. It actually took me getting out of photography as a profession to find that again. SO glad you have it inside of that world.

    Yes, we were given a great gift!

Leave a Reply

