Shoes and Sass

I love shoes.  Love them.  My love for shoes has been brewing under the surface for a long time but it really culminated right after Shep was born and I could actually wear shoes again!  My feet were so swollen and achey all I could wear were these little flip flops, and I couldn’t WAIT to wear heels again!  I don’t own any yet, but someday I want to add some Christian Louboutins to my collection.  I mean come on, how amazing are these shoes.  (Click on any shoe photo to see where they can be purchased!)

christian-loub-glittered-platform-pump

christian-louboutin-purple-suede-alta-nodo

I just bought these shoes yesterday (and got an amazing deal!)-

bcbg-glenda-gladiatorAnd how can these shoes not make you smile –

betsey-johnson-yori

I also love to watch stupid reality shows involving people who are highly dramatic, sassy, over the top, inconsiderate and hypocritical.  I can’t stop myself!  I watch these shows laughing at how utterly ridiculous these people are and drinking in all the drama.  And as much as I love to watch dramatic shows and I’ll admit, have a flair for the dramatic myself, and am known to display some occasional sass, it makes me realize how much I want to model the behavior my parents have always displayed in this area.  My dad was on staff at our church for years, so there were always people who were unhappy with something that he was doing.  People tried to engage my parents in their offenses and dramas over and over and they always graciously refused to become entangled.  I realize now as an adult how difficult that can be at times, and it makes me admire them more.  Two verses come to mind on this subject, maybe they’ll be a good reminder to you as they were to me recently.  Coming atcha in my favorite translation, the Message –

“A gentle response defuses anger, but a sharp tongue kindles a temper-fire.” -Proverbs 15:1

“Overlook an offense and bond a friendship; fasten on to a slight and—good-bye, friend” -Proverbs 17:9

Leave a comment

Filed under Normal Life

Leave a Reply

