Mother’s Day!

It was December of 2006 and I was getting nervously suspicious.  I went to Wal-Mart, with my head down and made a b-line for the ‘family planning’ aisle, hoping no one would see me.  I found a pregnancy test and tried to hold in such a way that would make it hard to see.  Stupid thing said ‘PREGNANCY TEST’ on every available part of the packaging.  I hid it under my coat.  I didn’t want anyone to see lest a) they think I was another unwed teenage pregnancy case, or worse 2) I ran into some sweet church member who would announce my pregnancy to the whole world before I even found out if my suspicions were true.  I waited till the next morning and took the test.  I was shocked.  It  said ‘pregnant’ right there in undeniable blue letters.  We had just gotten married in March of 2006, barely 9 months earlier!  I was 21, Jake was 22, we were living with my parents and we had just started a new life in Dallas after living in Colorado for four years.  How could we be parents?!  How could we afford a baby?!  How could we afford our insurance deductable?!  We knew we wanted to be young parents, but not quite that young!  I went to work going through the motions like a zombie.  I was so scared.

I decided to start blogging about my pregnancy and the various (when I say various I mean thousands of) emotions I was experiencing.  It really helped me to process.  Before long I was excited.  I was still very afraid but every step of the way God was faithful.  Everything worked out.  It had to.  God sent us a baby and He wasn’t going to abandon us once our baby arrived.

If you are pregnant right now and are scared about what to do next, take a deep breath and let it all out.

God knows.  He won’t leave you.  It will all work out, just let go of what your plan for life had been and embrace this new plan, cause it’s going to be amazing!

From the moment Shep was born, I couldn’t imagine life without him.  Being a parent is the most precious gift I’ve ever received.  I love each and every minute of it.  I love being a young mom and I wouldn’t trade it for the world.  When I hear couples tell me they want to wait X number of years before they have kids I can’t help but think that I’m so glad God interrupted our plan with this one.  It’s like a have a secret!  Not that I’m saying having kids right away is for everyone because it’s not.  But if you got a shock like I did, just know that you are in for the best days of your life sooner than you thought!

I wouldn’t miss moments like these for the world –

IMG_8990

IMG_8931

IMG_8917

IMG_8919

IMG_8977

IMG_8959

IMG_8962-(1)

I love it, it’s the classic, “Moooooom!” face.

IMG_8971

IMG_8968

IMG_8976

IMG_8975-(1)

Eating butter…

IMG_8981

IMG_8982

My second Mother’s Day was wonderful and beautiful =)

3 Comments

Filed under Normal Life

3 responses to “Mother’s Day!

  1. You are so precious and so qualified to lead people to peace and freedom through your transparent journey. I pray just the right people see this and are encouraged along the parenting way.

  2. BlueRain

    Children are a miracle for sure and to know it is yet another one as well.

    Great pics…thanks

  3. PeasAndCoos

    Those are BEAUTIFUL pictures! 🙂

Leave a Reply

