One Year Ago

Today is the one year anniversary of the passing of my grandpa, Truett Worley.  I thought I would share this note that my cousin Nathan wrote to us today.

July 27, 2008 was the day that my Grandpa died. It was a weird experience for my family, because he was so central to all of our lives. The many years that we had Christmas together, he read to us the Birth of Jesus from the Bible. He would have his grandfatherly prayers before our big family meals. He would fix…anything. We all wondered who was going to do that from now on? Well, without us knowing he was showing us how to do it all along. He instilled in his sons and daughters those very things that they were dependent upon him for. Then they in turn, showed that to their sons and daughters. When my grandpa died, all of us were finally able to see more clearly what he’d done for us. How he’d led my mom’s family in a way that glorified Christ. One of the most amazing things I’ve seen that have resulted from his death was how my Granny responded to it. She didn’t grieve for months, or even demand anything from anyone. For most of her life, she lived the life of a submissive wife, and she did it humbly. As soon as my grandpa died, she became the spiritual leader of our family. She found joy and peace in the midst of a tragic accident. That has been so encouraging and humbling for me to watch this past year.

So as we pass on to our second year with out him, I just wanted to take a second to remember what he has done for me, and for my family. How he brought his family up in Christ, and in turn affected 16 grandchildren and 16 great grandchildren. Thank you grandpa.

1 Comment

Filed under Normal Life

One response to “One Year Ago

  1. coloringlife2009

    This is beautiful. Your family line is so rich with people who love God!

Leave a Reply

