Apple Aperature and Photoshop Actions

I started using Apple’s Aperature software a few months ago and it has changed my life.  I heart Aperature.  It’s beautiful, it’s simple, it’s Apple, it makes sense and it speeds up my workflow by about 358%.  So I thought I’d share a little before and after using both Aperature and some Photoshop actions.

Here is the before.  Shep was jumping on my bed and of course being his Mommy I thought it was the cutest thing I’d ever seen.

IMG_4728before

I did decide that I wanted to make it cuter, so here are the steps I took in Aperature and a screen shot.  Using Aperature, I –

Moved over the edges slider
Warmed the white balance up
Increased the contrast
Moved over the definition slider
Used the standard monocrome mixer
Added .9 of sepia and a vignette

Picture 1

I then opened the photo in Photoshop and used Totally Rad Actions and Kubota Actions.

First from the TRA’s I used

Yin/Yang – Yang at a low opacity on his face
Select-o-sharp on his eyes
I then used an action I made myself which combines Smooth-o-matic from the TRA’s and KDP Magic Sharp from the Kubotas.

And voila!  Here’s what I ended up with –

IMG_4728after

3 Comments

Filed under Photoshop

3 responses to “Apple Aperature and Photoshop Actions

  1. coloringlife2009

    I woke up this morning with photography on my mind. Photography in Africa, that is. I am taking a trip in October and have some things I want to learn – like specific Photoshop actions – before then. This blog was the perfect confirmation.

  2. Enjoyed reading through this site, I will send this site to a few of my friends

Leave a Reply

