Pregnancy Blog – Week 12

Week 12 – Mood: Tiiiiiiired

Since my uniform of late has tended towards pink or blue velour sweat pants and a turqoise over-sized Apple t-shirt (read: clashing shades of blue), I’ve decided to become my own stylist.  This week I’ve been spending hours and hours putting together complete outfits and photographing them.  I was feeling really good about my outfits too, until I watched a Rachel Zoe marathon the other day…  Then I briefly decided that I needed to go out and buy a giant fur vest and a zillion pair of designer shoes.  Obviously.  It took about 24 hours before I came to my senses and realized that loving Rachel Zoe’s show did not mean I had to be Rachel Zoe.  Phew!  Glad we got that straight.  Those pregnancy hormones, I tell ya.

One thing I have realized about maternity fashion is that much like normal fashion, accessories are what really make you look fabulous if you can’t afford to go all Rachel Zoe on amazing statement clothes.  I think there is always something sexy about a nice plain t-shirt with a crisp pair of jeans.  However, when you feel like a whale (which let’s face it, is an inevitable part of pregnancy) it can sometimes be difficult to see the beauty in such comfortable simplicity.  And it’s no fun to feel like an ugly whale, can I get an amen?  So as I have been putting together outfits for myself (which will be printed out and put into a binder in my closet for easy reference), I’ve been trying to really pay attention to the details a la Rachel Zoe.  The problem with accessories for me is that although I heart them, when I’m feeling so blah that I need inspiration for my attire, I just want to be comfortable and don’t feel like wearing lots of extra things clinging, dangling, hanging, choking, squeezing, clanking from my body.  Is that just me?  That (and constant exhaustion and headaches) is why  most days this week have found me in the aforementioned men’s t-shirt and clashing sweat pants.  That is also why you will find random rings, earrings and necklaces scattered at various points around my house.  By the time I get home, I can’t wait to get them all off and they get removed as I notice their presence in some annoying way or another wherever I may be at the time.

Now if you’ll excuse me I have a killer headache and am going to try to sleep it off with a nice nap!  Oh and by the way, I’m totally wearing my sweats and t-shirt.  I promise I’ll change before we go to my parents’ house for dinner tonight!!!

1 Comment

Filed under Pregnancy Blogs

One response to “Pregnancy Blog – Week 12

  1. coloringlife2009

    Only you know what you look like when you are hidden away in your home. The rest of us just know you as fashionable, fabulous Beth!

Leave a Reply

