Pregnancy Blog – Week 24

Week twenty four started out as a great week.  I got some good work done, worked on Christmas cards for clients, booked a wedding for next year and finished up a Bible study on faith.  And then at the very end of the week, at the end of the day on Friday my faith was tested.  Amazing how that happens right?

On Friday afternoon, Jake was laid off from his job.

There’s that recession everyone keeps talking about, right?  After our initial emotions died down (and don’t worry – we had some emotions!), we’ve both really felt at peace.  We’ve been going through Dave Ramsey’s Financial Peace University, and like I said I just got finished with a Bible study on faith, so I feel like God has been preparing us.  Even though it’s scary, I think we’re both in a place of faith in God as our provider and consciously watching for and choosing not to live and walk in fear.

God’s timing doesn’t always seem ideal to me – losing our main source of income while expecting our second child isn’t the adventure I would choose – but I know that God has it all under control.  I’ve been really encouraged listening to Kristene Mueller the past couple of days, especially this song –

Redemption

Kristene Mueller

The darker the night
The brighter the day.
The fiercer the fight
The stronger the faith.
So I place my hope in You.

The deeper sin
The stronger the blood.
The more to forgive
The more reason to love.
So I place my trust in You.

In Your ways oh God
Redemption is so much better than perfection.
In Your ways oh God –

Over and over
You prove You’re so faithful.
Over and over
You prove Yourself a redeemer.

Over and over
You prove You’re so faithful.
Over and over
You prove Yourself a redeemer.

And to lighten the mood, here are some sneak peeks at some of the fun I got to have shooting people (with my camera, geez!) this weekend –

2 Comments

Filed under Pregnancy Blogs

2 responses to “Pregnancy Blog – Week 24

  1. beth,
    i’m so sorry. know that i just prayed for both of you and will continue to.
    remember philippians 4:6-7 “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

  2. Mackenzie

    Hang in there, Beth. John has been laid off since last February and although its been trying at times its also been a valuable learning experience about what we truly need and how to cut back. We’re also expecting (although that’s not fully public knowledge yet) and although it adds a little extra financial stress we know we’ll get through- and you guys will too. Best Wishes!

Leave a Reply

