Pregnancy Blog – Week 27

This week started with a rough weekend.  On Monday we sold my car.  And we aren’t replacing it for the foreseeable future.  The weekend before was really emotional for me.  I may have cried my weight in tears.  That’s one of the things about pregnancy hormones, it’s like you start crying and you just can’t find an off switch to the tears!  Once you start you just have to cry until you can’t cry anymore even if you want to stop.  It was probably a good release of emotion, but my eyes were so swollen!  At first I was crying for the loss of my freedom, then after a while crying because I felt guilty for being so upset when in the grand scheme of things it’s really not THAT big of a deal when compared with world hunger, poverty, and sex slavery.  At church on Sunday I was a basket case.  I don’t know about you but it’s really humbling to me to be up front, getting prayer, bawling my eyes out in front of everyone.  But I’m so glad that I did, I needed the prayer!

It was the first real ‘rubber meets the road’ moment for me as far as Jake getting laid off.  It also didn’t help that when I walked into church I was greeted by a man who said, “Look at you, you’re huuuge!”  Followed by a comment from another man who asked if I was close to my due date.

Seriously?

First of all, let’s be honest I’m not huge!  Secondly even if I was, why do people think that just because a women is pregnant that she all of a sudden will receive the word ‘huge’ as a compliment?  Not only are we emotional, uncomfortable, and watching our bodies being taken over by a huge bladder kicking ball of weight, but people decide to kick us while we’re down because they think it’s ok to tell us that we’re huge.  No sir.  I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again –  once a girl is more than five years old, she never wants to hear herself described as big, huge or any other such word ever again no matter how fitting the adjective may be.  Pregnancy especially is a time to refrain from such words, because chances are that the poor woman does feel like some kind of freak of nature beached whale.  She doesn’t need you to reinforce to her the idea that now she’s crossed some sort of line as far as body size goes from which she may or may not ever return.

So if you can’t tell from my sass, this week didn’t start off on the right foot for me.  However, Jake’s parents came in town on Tuesday and we’ve been having a great time with them.  They have also been driving me around in their rental car which has been a huge blessing!   So!  Since I believe in being positive (you know, after I vent all the negatives out in the paragraph above), I decided to make a list of the top ten reasons it’s cool to only have one car –

10.  Now we only have one car payment

9.  It makes me SO  green

8.  Our car insurance will go way down

7.  Shep is in loooove with ‘Daddy’s car’ and is always excited to ride in it

6.  We’re going to save so much money in gas

5.  I never set my car up to use my iPod or iPhone to listen to music, and this car is set up for that so I can finally start listening to exactly what I want while I drive.

4.  This car car has a sunroof and mine didn’t

3.  It makes me more grateful for what I have

2.  I get to learn patience and dependence on other people in my life

1.  It’s making me trust God more

I don’t think I need to write a top ten list of reasons why having one car sucks.  Pretty sure we all know those reasons!  I hope my car-free journey isn’t very long but if it is, I’m so grateful for all of the people in my life who have offered me rides or who are going through/have gone through the same thing and keep telling me it’s going to be ok.  And I’m also grateful that I’m not huge.  Yet.

Here’s a picture of my car taken earlier this fall through the window of the cabin in Riudoso –

2 Comments

Filed under Pregnancy Blogs

2 responses to “Pregnancy Blog – Week 27

  1. I remember I was emotional when pregnant will all our boys. Hang in there! I have been a stay at home mom since our youngest was born and enjoy working from home very much.

  2. Meagan Dupre

    I don’t have a car either! WOOHOO! I spend much more time at home and cook a lot more. And I get this special parking pass at school for carpooling. Add those to the list! And by the way… your blog has inspired me to start my own one of these days. Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

