Personal Project – Family Album!

I have been waiting for 2009 to end because I have been dying to design myself an album of family photos to have printed into a little book by Apple.  I did this last year except it was a book from August – August documenting Shep’s first year.  But from now on I’m going to make one every year instead of trying to hassle with printing photos and throwing them in albums (sorry pretty Pottery Barn albums that are gathering dust).  I don’t know about you, but since everything is digital, the only time I have prints done of my personal photos is if I’m sending them to my Grandma or actually putting them in frames in my house.  I used to love taking a roll of film to Wal-Mart to get it developed back in the day – but those days are definitely gone.  When the book comes back, I’m going to make a DVD of all of my 2009 family photos (it may end up being several DVDs we’ll have to see) and slipping it/them into a little paper DVD case and gluing it to the inside back cover.

It was SO hard to pair down the 8,600 photos I had from the year down to 200-300 for a book, and I may still make a few adjustments, but I pretty much have the whole book designed.  I custom designed most of the pages in my book using Apple’s Aperture software, which is for professional photographers, but if you have iPhoto it’s also very easy!

In iPhoto, you can put all the pictures you want to use in an album, create a new book, choose a theme and then drag and drop the pictures into the pre-designed pages.  You can change the individual pages selecting different pre-designed pages that use a certain number of images to get the look that you want, or chose to have  one full bleed photo per page.

iPhoto even has an autoflow button that will place all of your photos in your book for you so you don’t have to do a thing!  Just hit the autoflow button and your photos will automatically fill the book.  If you don’t like the way it looks, no problem, toggle back and forth between viewing the page layouts and individual photos in the browser at the top.  Drag and drop different photos to replace old ones.  This photo shows the page layouts in the browser.

This photo shows the photos in the browser.  At the bottom of the screen, select the layout button to see different page options.

Apple also has a helpful video here on designing books in iPhoto.  If you don’t use Apple products, you should probably go ahead and make your life easier by switching =)  In the meantime, most photo printers also print books, don’t worry.

I just wanted to share this idea with y’all in case you were wondering what to do with all of the zillions of pictures you took this year.  It’s an easy way to get all your pictures into one place where you can actually show them to people in person and it costs about the same as having all of the pictures printed and buying an album to put them in.  Click on the image below to see my album – which may or may not get tweaked further before I actually commit to ordering it =)


3 Comments

Filed under Normal Life

3 responses to “Personal Project – Family Album!

  1. Pingback: Lifestyle Family Photography – Jake and Shepherd «

  2. Beth,
    I met you briefly this last weekend at A’s party. I came to your site through Tara’s FB page and just love it. You are very talented and I have enjoyed browsing through your posts. Thanks for sharing the album you made of your 2009 photos. I’m currently working on albums for the past 3 years and your post was encouraging! May the Lord bless you as you continue to capture the beauty He has created!
    megan…

Leave a Reply

