Pregnancy Blog – Week 32

Cream cheese.  That’s what was up this week.  Cream cheese and crying.  I cried during American Idol both nights.  I LOVE when someone gets their golden ticket and comes out to some huge group of family members wearing t-shirts with their face on it.  I can’t help it I lose it every time!

Then I cried during Oprah yesterday.  How could I not?  She had this little boy who had started a cookie business to help him cope with his twin brother’s death.  She got him to tell her that Paula Deen’s Chocolate Gooey Butter cookies were his favorite and of course – out came Paula with a plate of them!!!  Sob!  Then they gave the family $10,000 to buy new appliances for the cookie business and Paula invited him to come to her restaurant to see how it was run.  Sob, sob!  Well at this point in the week, I was adding cream cheese to everything I ate and it was de-light-ful!  Let’s be honest, cream cheese makes just about anything taste better.  I added it to sandwiches, pasta, lasagna, and of course bagels.  Well when Paula came out with those cookies, I knew (between sobs) that I had to have them.  I’ve seen her make them before and knew that they had a block of cream cheese in them.  I just know Paula and I would be friends.  So last night my cream cheese obssession had it’s culmination in these divine cookies.  Here is the recipe so that you too can experience the goodness –

Ingredients

  • 1 (8-ounce) brick cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1 stick butter, at room temperature
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 (18-ounce) box moist chocolate cake mix
  • Confectioners’ sugar, for dusting

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

In a large bowl with an electric mixer, cream the cream cheese and butter until smooth. Beat in the egg. Then beat in the vanilla extract. Beat in the cake mix. Cover and refrigerate for 2 hours to firm up so that you can roll the batter into balls. Roll the chilled batter into tablespoon sized balls and then roll them in confectioner’s sugar. Place on an ungreased cookie sheet, 2 inches apart. Bake 12 minutes. The cookies will remain soft and “gooey.” Cool completely and sprinkle with more confectioners’ sugar, if desired. (trust me, you desire)

You may have noticed how few cookies are left on the plate.  Let that just testify.

In addition to all the cream cheese (or perhaps because of…) it was a good week!  Shep and I were home most of the week and lots of people came over to play with us.  I’m really enjoying my time with Shep right now – our last few weeks of just the two of us!  I’m SO excited to have two precious boys, but I know that this time with Shep alone is something I’ll never get back so I’m trying to enjoy every minute of it.  Well, the fun minutes anyway =)  He is really into clocks right now and he loves to get tickled!  Yesterday we had a tickle fight and every time I would stop tickling him he would say, “Again tickle?”  So precious.

One night this week (I can’t remember which night of course) I was awake from 12-4 in the morning and I was literally hungry the whole time.  I’d had a piece of cake before bed, had some chips when I got up at 12, and then a whole bagel (with cream cheese of course) at like 3:30.  And I could’ve kept going!  I finally made myself get back in bed and eventually fell asleep.  Sometimes it’s nice to be the only one awake in a nice quiet house, I got like half a wedding album designed!

Ok I’m so tired right now that I really can’t think of anything else to write.  The third trimester will do that to ya.  One minute you’re fine and happy and the next minute you could fall asleep while walking and talking.

2 Comments

Filed under Pregnancy Blogs

2 responses to “Pregnancy Blog – Week 32

  1. You look wonderful! These blogs make me laugh!

  2. I truly like following your blog as the postings are so simple to read and follow. Excellent. Keep up the great work. Ciao.

Leave a Reply

