One Week and One Day

It has now been one week and one day since Rhett Worley Dreyer was brought into this world via the baby removing services of my OB-GYN.  He is perfect.

He has dark hair and dark eyes like his daddy, and even seems as though he may turn out to have darker skin like his daddy as well!  I’m not holding my breath on that last one though, Shepherd came out seeming like he was going to have some color, but he whitened up pretty quickly and is now as pale and pasty as his mommy.  We’ll see.

We have felt so loved and cared for by our friends and family.  I haven’t had to lift a finger since I’ve been home which is wonderful.  People keep asking me how I’m doing and I don’t really know what to say most of the time.  I feel like I’m lying if I say I’m doing great.  But I am doing great considering the circumstances.  I’m recovering from major surgery, nursing, not getting normal amounts of sleep, while my body is still readjusting itself to not producing a baby, and my hormones are as unstable as ever.  And don’t forget the two year old!  It’s a fragile and vulnerable place to be really.  But such is the nature of transition, both physical and spiritual.  It is very often wonderful and terrible all at the same time.

I had a c-section which went beautifully.  One of the nurses grabbed the camera out of Jake’s hands and took some very tasteful photos of Rhett actually being born which I treasure!  He weighed 7lbs. 1oz. and was 18.9 inches long.

When we got back to my hospital room, my friend Coli was there to capture our first few moments as a family.  You can see them here!

Since we’ve been home, things have been good and bad and crazy and calm.  The other day we woke up to realize that Jake had left the garage door up all night and that I had left the infant car seat in the backyard for three days – during which time it rained.  I shampooed my hair twice during a shower.  I was waking up separately from Rhett because I had to use the bathroom.  I keep having these moments where I’m in shock, “I have two kids now.  I am a mother of two.”  It’s all beautiful and wonderful.

The last week of my pregnancy I was very struck by how much of a parallel there is between physical pregnancy and how God brings us into our destinies in big and small ways.  I feel very ‘pregnant’ in other areas of my life right now as well – but I was encouraged by realizing that yes the end of a pregnancy is the most uncomfortable and difficult to bear, but that baby has to come out at some point!  God didn’t put a vision in us and let it grow in our hearts just to leave it there.  At some point it has to come out and be birthed!  I hope that is encouraging to somebody.

So if you ask me how I’m doing, I may tell you I’m great, I may tell you I’m ok, and I may hesitate on what to say.  I guess I should just say that I’m overflowing with love, gratitude and exhaustion.  In fact at this very moment my mom is here watching the boys so I’m going to sneak in a nap =)

5 Comments

Filed under Normal Life

5 responses to “One Week and One Day

  1. Kristin

    Beth,
    those words ministered to me in a huge way! Thank you!! Rhett is beautiful and so are you! Being a mom pretty much feels that way and it seems to me that other mothers know exactly what you mean more than anyone else!

  2. so sweet! can’t wait to meet him! we love that blanket…the organic cotton one with the bear. Its one of my favorites.

  3. Beth

    Hey! Its beth bonjour haha I randomly saw your blog on f-book home page and took a gander. Just wanted to say I loved this post in so many ways.. And I was for one encouraged by the last bit, love your honesty and glad I read it =) We are pregnant with our 3rd right now and things are about to get crazy I feel with a new little one again but were up for the challenge!

Leave a Reply

